Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shaolin forms help

Hi everyone!

I was wondering if anyone here knows any good websites with pictures how to do shaolin forms? Or any better any good books in english describing in words or pictures to to do some shaolin forms. Hehe, know there are some on this website, but i want more =) especially with pictures!

Who am i? Im a beginner at the one year old shaolin kung fu school (yep theres 2 real shaolin schools in sweden now) www.shaolin-chanwu.com . Visiting us for 10 weeks right now is the shaolin temple head tutor Shi Yong Ting or Hei Ting as he is also known.

Best regards from sweden // Sunbird

There are slideshows of some traditional forms, which demonstrate them step by step, in the File Library, of this very forum. Make sure that you have QuickTime 6. And, a fast internet connection, though, with the way we did it, it should work on a 56 k modem.

There are videos of Shaolin forms, by monks, disciples, and students, also on this forum, in the File Library. You'll need a fast internet connection to view them, and, of course, QuickTime 6 (which you can get at www.apple.com).

I know of no other site that has these (other than the ones that I've released onto the net). Getting video of monk performances of traditional forms is damn near impossible. I have more coming, about seven hours of video that we have to produce and edit and prepare for streaming, but, it will be done over the next month or two, and won't be put online until I get back from China. (I'll have even more video then, lol)

As for books, the only one in English worth while is the Tagou book, but it is very hard to follow if you do not already know the forms.

There are some commercial video sets out there, some by Shi Guolin, and some by Shi De Cheng. Both are very good. You have to spend money to get them though.

Remember, you can't learn this stuff from watching videos. But, you can get an idea of what's involved by looking at them.