No announcement yet.

Serious Post, I'm just starting out...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serious Post, I'm just starting out...

My first day of WuShu training was today. I'm 16, and attend a local state school for the gifted. My teacher is one grade above me. He is absolutely incredible, and has been practicing Wushu for a number of years. He teaches me in private lessons once a week, and does it for free.

I'm 5'11"...173lbs(some of which needs to go =])...Male, strong lower body musculature, average upper body.
    So now you guys know more about me, maybe you can help me out some.

My first day training was Hell. We started by stretching, then running, then he taught the five basic WuShu stances (Horse, Left and Right Bow, 7stars, Sitting stance, and Empty.) After this, I was instructed to practice holding these stances, then taught a Smash Step and a few non-applicable exercise-only kicks. We then practiced the stances more, held them for longer periods of time, and did more exercise kicks. After this, I did a set of conditioning as follows: 20 full-length tricep intensive pushups, 20 horizantal leg-lift/situp body snaps, 20 reverse situps designed for the back. I did all of those three times. I then did two different difficult jumping exercises, and more exercise punches and movements. To finish, we held the stances longer. All of this was done over a three hour period with no breaks of any kind (when I needed water, I had to jog to get it and jog back.)

My questions are these:

Will my training always be this harsh on my body, or is this a starting-out thing?

Since my lessons are once a week, how should I stay in shape between lessons? What stretches, exercises, weight-lifting, running, or eating habits should I follow?

And, how much time a day, on the non-lesson days, should I spend doing these things?