I'm visiting Shaolin this August! Sparring with monks, meeting Yongxin, etc

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm visiting Shaolin this August! Sparring with monks, meeting Yongxin, etc

I love this website very much and am also a supporting member of www.bullshido.net. I would love to contribute pictures of the temple once I return from China at the end of August, but I was hoping you could answer some of my questions concerning Shaolin temple.

You see, I have been fascinated by Martial Arts and Shaolin Gong-Fu my whole life. I have been training for nearly 5 years in a full-contact standup style consisting of kyokushin karate, kickboxing and shaolin gong fu. Recently my Instructor has given me the opportunity to grade for my Black Belt. Him and I are very curious as to whether it is advisable for me to meet with the Abbot of Shaolin or some other Shaolin Master to perform a demonstration for his appraisal. I will only be visiting the temple for one day, because I am visiting China to meet my girlfriend's parents (who live in Beijing). My girlfriend's first language is Mandarin and she will be with me to translate back and forth to make this all possible. I have read your FAQ page thoroughly but here are my questions:

1. Is it advisable to solicit an appraisal from the Abbot or some other master?

2. Do you think he would charge me money for ?

3. Would the monks take offense if I offered to spar (with light contact) one or two of them? Specifically, would they run me through with a sword/spear?

4. I have heard of another man from the West who was designated a GrandMaster of Shaolin Gong-Fu (Steve Demasco) by an Abbot Shi Yongxin. Do you think this was a legitimate designation or merely a publicity stunt?

More details here: http://www.ussd.com/xpage/xpage.asp...intemple2000pg1