which martial art

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which martial art

im 36 years old and im training in taekwondo.ive been thinking about going to china to learn kung fu .i wanted to know if kung fu takes longer to learn and if its more complicated to learn than taekwondo?? im 36 years old so its not like i go forever to learn and become good at a martial art.

Crap, I just typed a long response and it was gone but here's a summary of what i said before. I have a few years experience in taekwondo and other stuff. In my opinion you can learn taekwondo in a couple of years but kungfu will take much much much longer than that. When I started training shaolin, i thought that i could adjust well but not really, i had to "unlearn " what I knew. I thought the stances & kicks would be a bit similar but not really. For example, when I learned a front stance in tkd let's picture that you're in a rectangle, the left foot will go to the top left corner of the rectangle and the right foot will go to the lower right of the rectangle but a front stance(Gongbu) in shaolin both heels are in a straight line. Some of the stances are much lower in tkd requiring more leg strength and flexibility. I don't remember what else I put down but good luck to you. Just train hard and you'll adjust well.
    Amithaba

Comment

Use notepad next time while you are typing a long response. Then you won't lose it like that.

Comment

LoL yah i learned my lesson.
        Amithaba

Comment

Before I get into my ranting, I'm gonna make an assumption. My assumption is that Tae Kwon Do is Karatedo with a tendency to kick more. If you disagree, then keep that in mind for my response.