Shaolin Tao form?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaolin Tao form?

First post here so first of all - Hello! Looks like a great place!

Anyway, long long ago in my youth (20 years ago) I studied 'shaolin wushu' in england with a chinese master from malaysia.. trained for about 2 years and got to brown belt before dropping out for various reasons (the chinese master left the country for one thing)..

Now I am trying to remember all the forms that I learned back then and can only remember the first 3 more or less.. however in the list of forms I saw here I don't recognize any of the names besides lohan.. wondering if what I was taught were just made up/modified for us ignorant westerners or if they are forms that came out of malaysia in particular or from some other style or whatever..

"Shaolin Tao" was one of the forms.. in my club it was actually split into three parts and we learned one part for each grade.. sadly I can only remember part one now but would like to re-learn the rest.. Does anyone know of this form or where I might find more info?

Even more sadly I can't remember the name even of the last and most advanced form I learned.. it was something like "chi kan chan" but thats probably not even close.. does it ring any bells for anyone here?

You know, if you mess with the information you gave here just enough, it almost sounds like you studied wing chun.

Perhaps the first form's name is Siu Nim Tao (corrections on my abbhorent Cantonese are welcome).

Also, if you were learning WC, then it would make sense that you can only remember three forms.

Did you move about a lot in your system or did you kind of stay fixed for close-combat fighting with lots of pivot-type actions?

If you did learn WingChun, dont worry. it IS a shaolin style, and a very reputable and useful one at that. The fact that you learned it from a Master from Malaysia, probably through a lineage that escaped the Red Guard, would make it all that much more exciting.