I be introducin' myself!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I be introducin' myself!!

Alright, let me gush about russbo.com for just a second: ohmigodthissiteisawesome.

Right, now that that's out of the way, HI! How's it goin'? I've been practicing martial arts for the last twenty years. In 2001, I made my first trip to China and the Shaolin Temple. I hope that my experiences will be worthy of sharing, and that I can learn about All Things Shaolin from many of you.

My first question went straight to doc, so let me share it with all of you:

I'm wondering if you will consider doing some sort of a Lineage/Family tree type page, where the names of the dozen or so monks that were supposedly at the Temple when its reconstruction began in the 70s could be listed. So much of what you've already written has helped to clarify this time period. Perhaps you have already done such a project, and I haven't found it yet?

...to which doc replied:

Other's have asked. Tough to do. These guys don't keep records. And they don't know everybody that's there with them. Getting my master's lineage wasn't that difficult, getting other's, especially since they've scattered would be impossible. As for the originals from the 70's, all are dead except two; Wan Heng is somewhere in Europe, Su Xi is dying of Parkinson's disease. You're talking about a project that would take incredible amounts of time, if it could be done at all.
    -----------------------------------------------

Well, as tough as this project may be, I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one interested in this quasi family tree. Even if we were to just tackle 'the originals', that would be a starting point. Doc said my question was worthy enough for a follow-up, so keep your eyes peeled for a more in depth response on the 'Dear Doc' section of the site at some point. Thanks doc!!

- Pete 'Spidey' Kreitchet

theres power in numbers..