The Shaolin Tradition - the current state of new disciples

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Shaolin Tradition - the current state of new disciples

Hey guys, I'm pretty much a newbie here who hails from Montreal, and I study Wing Chun, and I'm also a lover and performer of chinese culture. I've been lurking around the forums and looking at the videos and unique info this site has to offer, and I think it's pretty cool.

So, basically I've been wondering about the current state of the Shaolin temple's traditions - from what I understand, many of the real monks have long since departed from the temple and a large number have since disappeared, and now this whole controversy with Yongxin, the despot abbot, is pretty much turning the temple into one giant circus. Am I getting the facts straight? If not, please let me know.

Anyway, as my understanding is that the monks in the "temple" study nothing but demonstration wushu, what about the teachings by the monks outside the temple (i.e., Heng Jun (though I could be wrong), De Cheng , De Yang, Yan Ming etc.)? Are they preserving/transmitting the traditional applications and forms as well or are they just following the "modern wushu" bandwagon?

Also, are they creating new monk disciples? I just read an article here: http://www.lasvegasmercury.com/2004/.../23860069.html
    and it says here that Shi Xing Wei was a disciple of Shi De Cheng, and it seems he's even taken the oaths of sobriety and singlehood. Does that mean there is still hope for Shaolin afterall?

Thanks for your time. Hope to hear from you guys.

-Liu Bei

vegas seems without hope.

keep reading.
    "Arhat, I am your father..."
    -the Dark Lord Cod

Comment

What? About the "doesn't teach fighting" part? Well, as long as he keeps a the students in the right spirit and transmits the tradition, I think that's okay.

That is, unless he only teaches the modern wushu stuff, which is why he "doesn't teach fighting"...

Comment