Kung Fu + Jiu Jitsu?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kung Fu + Jiu Jitsu?

Hi Doc. This is my first time on your website and I am quite impressed.

I have a blackbelt in Tae Kwon Do but have not practiced that style for several years. Since then, I've sparred with students of various martial arts and have learned bits and pieces of different styles. Recently I began taking Shaolin Kung Fu. I've taken it for 4 months and am now a yellow sash.

The other day a friend invited me to train with him at the dojo where he teaches Jiu Jitsu. He is a second degree blackbelt in Weeping style Jiu Jitsu and also knows Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. We sparred and he mopped the floor with me (literally). I am used to fighting people who use standing, striking styles of martial arts (Karate, Tae Kwon Do, Ninjutsu, Kung Fu, etc.). I was completely unprepared for an opponent who specializes in ground fighting/grappling and joint manipulation.

Three questions for you: Does Shaolin Kung fu contain enough grappling/joint manipulation/throws to put its practitioner on a level playing field with a student of Jiu Jitsu who is willing to take a few strong blows in order to get inside and wrap you up? If so, are these techniques at an advanced level or are they so dispersed throughout Shaolin's curriculum that it takes years to build a reportoire of them? And most importantly: In your expert opinion, should I focus solely on learning Kung Fu, or should I take Kung Fu and Jiu Jitsu simultaneously?

Thank you for your time,
    -Michael

I have no expert opinion. With that said, here's my very inexpert opinion.