Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much experience should your teacher have?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much experience should your teacher have?

I've been studying Tai Chi for just over 2 years now. For the first 7 months I studied Yang at 2 hours a week (with someone from the Beijing Institute) and later for just under a year I studied Chen at 2 hours a week (with someone from Dengfeng). Now I'm in China and study Chen for 5 hours a day, 6 days a week with Master Fu Neng Bin (one of Chen Zhenglie's 4 most favoured students). By the end of November I'll have amassed over 600 hours of tuition time since I started studying.

When I return to South Africa I'm considering teaching Tai Chi. Chen style of course because Yang's for girls. ;-)

Basically I'm wondering what you all think about that idea? I feel that I'm only just beginning to get a grasp of Tai Chi but of course I know far more than the man on the street.

I'd heard it somewhere, don't ask where, that a beginner should only consider a teacher with at least 600 hours of tuition time.

Now obviously you don't know me. You've never seen my Tai Chi. But give me a guess. What do you think? BAd idea or god idea?

There are only 10 types of people in this world.
    Those that understand binary and those that don't.

i once heard a story about two students speaking with their new taiji master. it went a little something like this:

student A said he would practice taiji two hours a day for ten years. student B said he would practice five hours a day for five years.

then, they asked who'd be better.

----------------

but i like the way you just asked the question like that, so candidly. i'll give you my feeling..

I've been studying Tai Chi for just over 2 years now.
    you're still a baby.

For the first 7 months I studied Yang at 2 hours a week (with someone from the Beijing Institute)
    like throwing pebbles in a well...