Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where should I go in China?

Hi doc!

First of all, I would like to compliment you on your great website. It has been really helpful and I've learned a lot from it.

I'm a student of Shi Xing Xue from Gothenburg, Sweden, and I'm going to Beijing to study wushu and mandarin. I will also visit Shaolin and Zhengzhou, and maybe Shanghai and Xi'an. I'm leaving in September, and coming back in July next year. Do you have any tips, like, places to visit, what to do, what to avoid and stuff like that (that is not included in ordinary travel guides)? It is going to be my first time in China. Also, I wonder how common vegetarianism is amongst the Chinese. Oh, and one more thing: do you think it will be possible for me to bring wushu weapons (broadswords etc) back home, or will they be confiscated at the airport?

Amituofo

xxxxx

Well, first of all, you should read Bai He's Survival Guide, which can be found in the Site Content/Shaolin/Journals section of the site. There's some good information in there. You also might want to cruise around the different areas of the site and forums, there's a lot of information scattered everywhere concerning travel to China, and staying in Shaolin. And no, I can guarantee, you won't find what's on this site in ordinary travel guides, lol.

Pure vegetarianism in China is common, especially among the monks. It's easy to remain some sort of vegetarian while here, they do eat a lot of vegetables and tofu. You'll also find pork and beef. I'd recommend staying away from the chicken though, they tend to cook that after just haphazardly cutting it up into many different pieces, including the bones and grizzle. Kind of tough to eat. If you're looking for chicken, Kentucky Fried is all over Beijing, and it's damn popular with the Chinese. Pizza Hut too, but they've got a ways to go concerning the pizza sauce that they use.