thoughts on San Shou

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• thoughts on San Shou

hey im a newbie on the forums so please don't flame, just wanted to give my thoughts and compare with others.
    background, i'm a 20 year old male, varsity taekwondo in college and i did fairly well in the National Wushu Championships here in the Philippines (current bronze medalist in san shou).

san shou, which means "free fighting", in my opinion, cannot be used as a standard to gauge your fighting skill. for one, it has gloves. gloved hands are much easier to watch out for and block, simply because your fist becomes 4 times its size. certain holes in your opponent's defense where a fist might have passed through will become airtight because of the enlargement of your fist.

two, because of the armor that the fighters wear. maybe it's just me, but i'd rather go into a fight without the helmet, not because i'm some sort of hero, but because the helmet disturbs and irritates me. this little bit of distraction can cost a fighter the match. the body armor is bloody hard. body blows are nonexistent, they just don't do any damage. in the semifinal round i must have landed clost to 20 kicks on my opponent's left and right side ribs, he just kept coming.