Shaolin Temple UK Training

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaolin Temple UK Training

Hi there, I'm new to the forums here, and new to Shaolin gungfu... soon to tart training with the Wahnam Institute, and already training in Wing Chun at the Tse Qigong centre, and I have some 11 years experience training in karate (which to be honest, I've always found a little underwhelming, despite having an excellent and inspiring sensei).
    Anyway I plan to visit the UK Shaolin temple in Tufnell Park one day this week, and I was wondering if anyone who trains there could give me an account of what it's like for a beginner, and if anyone has any idea what training is like at higher levels... ie. things like how long is a student expected to stay in the preparation phases before progressing to more concentrated gungfu training, are youtaught combat application of patterns and forms etc, what is the san shou style like, what is the standard of the gungfu practiced, how traditional are the forms, how many classes per week are you expected to attend, etc. etc. and anything else I should know...

Any help on these would be great, since I'd like to have some idea of what to expect before showing up
    "Be Cool" - Lao Tzu

I started as a beginner almost three years ago, well before the actual temple opened in Tufnell park, so I'll leave it to someone else to answer about what it's like now as a beginner at the temple.

I am now at Oxen level so I'll answer the rest of your question.
    "are youtaught combat application of patterns and forms etc";