Shaolin Taiji Chuan

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaolin Taiji Chuan

Im new to writing on the Russbo forums but was interested in knowing whether any of you practice the shaolin temples taiji form. I am currently a student of a 32nd generation shaolin disciple Xing Wu/Brett Russell in Sydney, Aust.
    Now Im not doubting its existence as a unique style of shaolin, but I have never seen any mention anywhere about it, other than it is the style used in the Jet Li movie "Tai Chi Master"s opening and end sequence. I only really hear about the 4 popular styles, Chen, Yang, Sun and Wu.
    MY sifu says its a very martial oriented style, good for fighting, and most akin to Chen style, with some similar movements, but in all, its a very unique style.
    I was just wondering if any other students of shaolin kung-fu study this set of taiji?

Amitabha

Tai Chi

I've read of at least 2 internal styles which were created some time around 550-600 A.D.; Sheau Jeou Tian (Small Nine Heavens) and Hou Tian Fa (Poat-Heaven Technique). Some writtings say these 2 styles were the original sources of Tai Chi Chaun, the creation of which is credited to Chang San-Feng of the late Song Dynasty around 1200 A.D. I, myself, study Chung Moo Quan style Tai Chi.

Comment

Is that the same form as the one shi Yan Ming does at the end of the Love Edit?

Comment

Im not sure dogchow, id have to see the shi Yan Ming Love Edit movie, if you could link us up I could check it out.

Comment

Historical data pointing to Zhang San Feng inventing taijiquan is pretty dodgy at best. It most likely came from Chen village, developing out of hongquan, paoquan, and other older longfist styles.

It should be of no surprise that the taiji found around Shaolin is nearly Chen style...Chen village where the style originated is quite close.
          -Jesse Pasleytm
          "How do I know? Because my sensei told me!"

Comment

Shi Yan Ming "Love Edit