Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Chinese people - treacherous? (I just wanted to ask...)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chinese people - treacherous? (I just wanted to ask...)

Hey Doc,

I'm pretty much a newbie here - I joined up on this forum some months ago and posted a thread before, but that was about it. I just came back to this forum and saw this thread:

http://www.russbo.org/vb/showthread.php?t=2952

And I couldn't help but notice your comment about Chinese people... you see, I'm Chinese myself, and I sort of, well, take offense... well, this thread was going to come up eventually, so I felt I might as well be the one to bring it up.

What exactly have you seen in the Chinese people that makes you so distasteful of them? Are they really that bad? What rules do they live by exactly that doesn't make them awful?

Well, from what I understand from my parents (my mother especially), a lot of the crude behaviour found in modern Chinese was the result of history - the Mao era made a lot of people bitter, especially during the Cultural Revolution (when people often spied and persecuted their own neighbours), and there were no moral teachings being instilled in the youth at that time (the Chinese moral model, Confucianism, was illegal at the time), except loyalty to the Party and all that Mao-thought garbage.

My mom, who lived during this era, regarded that a lot of people she had interacted with from her generation are cold and distant; a possible product from the Mao-era, she theorized. Couple this with the rapid influx of western material-thought to fill the spiritual void, and you got those despicable Chinese, I guess.