Help and good advice needed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help and good advice needed!

Hi all - As you'll see, I'm new to this site. I discovered it whilst researching Martial Arts academies in China, which has left me pretty confused, so decided to join up and come looking for some decent advice.

A bit of background - I am currently (thanks to the current economic climate!) 'between jobs' and have decided that this would be an ideal time to follow a long time ambition, to go and study martial arts in China. My only previous experience is two years Lau Gar, studied 23 years ago, so essentially, I'm a complete beginner.

Looking into this all about a year ago, I found this place www.chinashaolins.com which I thought looked like just what I was after. Now, being in the position to actually pursue this dream, I decided to take my research a little further and have discovered mainly, really negative reports on this academy. I had also found www.yantaikungfu.com - This school seems to have a fair mix of positive and negative reports.

Needless to say, I'm confused and wary of spending my hard earned cash on attending either of these places if I'm not going to get what I'm looking for and end up dissapointed.

What I'm looking for is to spend about 3 months somewhere where I can learn traditional martial arts, get some improved discipline in my life, experience some Chinese culture and improve my health (11 years in the liquor industry and having just quit smoking after this time has taken it's toll - That said I'm not in terrible shape and have been getting back into keeping fit - Especially since quitting the smokes!). I am interested in traditional Shaolin Gong Fu or Praying Mantis (or perhaps even Wing Chun) - TaiChi and Qi Gong are also important to me and I would definitely like these to be included in my study.