Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Doc, im a beginner who needs some advice!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doc, im a beginner who needs some advice!

Doc,

First of all great site! I read your Wu Shu vs Gong fu article and found it to be exactly what I was looking for. My question is i am starting kung fu this saturday (04-10-04) and i was wondering what i should expect? I recently stopped in the place and the guy in there said i should stop by and participate in an open class. Is this how one normally starts the training? Let me know what you think, any advice would be greatly appriciated!

GreyFox

What seems to be the problem? As far as i know, most training is "open". All the places i've been to, the attitude seems to be "just show up and we'll find you something to do".
    The only real problem i can see in a situation like yours is if he's a dumb kungfu-wannabe and he'll make you do some exercises which will destroy your knees or something. Just take good care of yourself; start slow and build it up over the months....
    A good indicator of good training could be that you see older students with remarkable skills (which means someone actually stayed there for a longer time and learned something).

Take care

Comment

Thanks asger. Also is there anything i should do this week to prepare myself, any streches or movements that i should perform. Let me know and thanks for the helf!

greyfox

Comment

Expect nothing.

Actually, not a bad way to go through life. With no expectations, you can't be disappointed. And, as for your first day, take it one step at a time. Have no expectations as to your abilities either.

Go slowly. One step at a time.

Now, Asger, what's with the "Cheye" eyes? Did you get her permission?
        Experienced Community organizer. Yeah, let's choose him to run the free world. It will be historic. What could possibly go wrong...

"You're just a jaded cynical mother****er...." Jeffpeg