Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to become a Monk, take??? - Lost count...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to become a Monk, take??? - Lost count...

Since we regularly get a request on what to do on how to become a Monk in China, move into the mountain to meditate, and so on...

I would like to point any aspiring candidate to the following website for a little of a reality check:

http://www.multilingual.com/

Yesterday the Guide to China 2007 was posted. Click on Downloads and select Guides.

Its a 5MB the web version PDF file containing a number of interesting perspectives as well as info on customs cultures and and also the stark contrasts in China.

////////////////////////////////////////Explanation//////////////////////////////////

Now a number of you probably ask "What the heck is he smoking, because we are talking about Shaolin and becoming a monk?" (probably in a less polite fashion.)

As some of you know I am a professional translator working in the software field. Now if products are being translated into other languages there are a lot of considerations to take into account. I am not going to bore you with all details because otherwise we be here for a while and that would be one heck of a long post.

But the key is this. You need to know the country, the people, customs, and therefore take off your nice and shiny American sunglasses to see what needs to be done to make it a success.

This reference site provides these type of specials with reports from people in the trenches so to speak, menaing being there living there, etc. And anyone going to attempt to enter the Chinese market better heed the advice given. While these references are more business-related per se they provide also some very valuable info for anyone planning on living there.

I recommend especially the last article about the localization professor living in China. It provides a nice reality check.

Uwe

Sorry Uwe.